Field Trips

Field trips are open to anyone interested in birding, wildlife watching, photography and/or exploring Florida’s natural areas. Check the website for details, but in general bring water, hat, sunscreen, binoculars, and dress for the weather. Some trips are all day. You may need to bring lunch, etc. We often carpool, especially on the longer trips.  Gas money for the drivers is appreciated.

Details of programs and field trips are at https://www.meetup.com/WestVolusiaAudubon/ and are subject to change, sometimes at the last minute. We will update the website as soon as we are aware of changes, but call Eli Schaperow at 407-314-7965, if there is any doubt.*Requires reservations – Contact Eli Schaperow at 407-314-7965

Other activities may be scheduled throughout the year and will also be announced on the website.

FIELD TRIPS 2019-2020
Oct  4  (Fri)  Washington Oaks
Oct 12 (Sat)  Tomoka State Park
Oct 13 (Sun)  Audubon Park of Deltona
Oct 23 (Wed) Sugar Mill Gardens
Nov 1 (Fri)  Lyonia Preserve & Environmental Center
Nov 2  (Sat)  Orlando Wetlands Park
Nov 6 (Wed) Caravan at Lake Woodruff Refuge
Nov 15 (Fri)  Lake Apopka Wildlife Drive
Nov 18 (Mon)  Merritt Island Wildlife Drive
Nov 23 (Sat) Tomoka Landfill
Dec  2 (Mon)  Lake Jessup Conservation Area
Dec 13 (Fri)  Birding with Friends at Lake Woodruff
Dec 11 (Wed) Night Walk Lake Woodruff Refuge
Dec 18 (Wed)  Blue Heron River Boat Trip *Reservations
Dec 21 (Sat)  Christmas Bird Count
Jan 5 (Sun)  Lake Woodruff Wildlife Refuge Walk
Jan 10 (Fri) Sweetwater Wetlands Park     Gainsville
Jan 12 (Sun) Audubon Park of Deltona
Jan 15 (Wed) Beachside Birding
Jan 17 (Fri) Birding with Friends at Lake Woodruff
Jan 19 (Sat)  Lake Apopka Wildlife Drive
Jan 19 (Sun)  Lake Woodruff Wildlife Refuge Walk
Jan 30 (Thur)  Merritt Island Wildlife Refuge
Feb 2 (Sun)  Lake Woodruff Wildlife Refuge Walk
Feb 8 (Sat)  Orlando Wetlands Park
Feb 12 (Wed) Caravan at Lake Woodruff Refuge
Feb 16 (Sun)  Lake Woodruff Wildlife Refuge Walk
Feb 21 (Fri)  Lake Apopka Drive
Feb 23 (Sun)  Big Day Birding
Mar 2 (Mon) Lyonia Preserve & Environmental Center
Mar 4 (Thur)  Princess Place Preserve
Mar 19 (Thur) Blue Heron River Boat Tour  *Reservations
Mar 23 (Mon)  Sugar Mill Gardens
Apr 17 & 18  (Fri-Sat)  Birdathon
Apr 10 (Fri)  Lake Apopka Wildlife Drive
Apr 22 (Wed)  St Augustine Alligator Farm *Reservations

*Requires $Fee & Reservations – Contact Eli Schaperow at 407-314-7965

Details of programs and field trips are found at https://www.meetup.com/WestVolusiaAudubon/ and are subject to change, sometimes at the last minute. We will update the Meetup site as soon as we are aware of changes. Call Eli Schaperow at 407-314-7965, if there is any doubt.

Other activities may be scheduled throughout the year and will also be announced on the website.